Stars of Education/Teacher of the Year

May 01, 2018

Every spring, The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools honors those who do the day-to-day work of educating our city’s children.

The community-wide celebration starts in the fall of each school year when District staff, students, parents and community members submit nominations for the Perfect Partnership Awards, Super Support Staff Awards and Valuable Volunteer Awards.

Each school site also selects their “Building Teacher of the Year” each fall.  This gives the district’s top educators time to put together a comprehensive portfolio demonstrating the educator’s teaching philosophy, which is then reviewed by past district Teachers of the Year finalists, honorees and state Teachers of the Year.  With a lot of hard work, these submissions are narrowed down to an elite group of finalists, who compete to represent the Oklahoma City Public School District in the State Teacher of the Year competition.

The celebration is in the spring as site-based award ceremonies are held throughout the District celebrating the top partnerships, support staff and volunteers.  As the school year draws to a close, the Stars of Education celebration concludes with the district Teacher of the Year announcement.

Please join The Foundation for Oklahoma City Public Schools as we celebrate this event — May 1, 5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. — at the Historic OKC Farmers Public Market. Business attire is suggested. Please RSVP to [email protected] or 405-604-5977.

Here are the 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year finalists:

  • Cynthia Bothwell, Capitol Hill High School, Algebra I
  • Anthony Chancellor, Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School, Grade Leadership
  • Dwight Cunkle, Horace Mann Elementary School, Elementary Vocal Music
  • Joanna Eldridge, Edgemere Elementary School, Special Education, Pre-K – sixth
  • Dr. Doretha Guion-Colbert, F.D. Moon Academy, fourth grade
  • Jamie Hinds, Webster Middle School, English Language Development
  • Kyla Kaufman, Bodine Elementary School, Visual Arts Instructor
  • Jami Keys, Coolidge Elementary School, first grade
  • Cara Viviani, Sequoyah Elementary School, Pre-K

Previous Winners

  • Madison Wingate, Pierce Elementary School, 2017
  • Rebecka Graffigna – Linwood Elementary, 2016
  • Samantha Murch – Star Spencer High School, 2015
  • Meredith Ziegler – Wilson Arts Integration Elementary, 2014
  • Heather Meldrum – Stanley Hupfeld Western Village Academy, 2013
  • Daniel Buckmaster – Belle Isle Enterprise Middle School, 2012
  • Nikki Cowshow – Edgemere Elementary, 2011
  • Meredith Wronowski – Capitol Hill High School, 2010
  • Jennifer Robinson – Classen School of Advanced Studies, 2009
  • Heather Sparks – Taft Middle School, 2008
  • Michael Payne – Classen School of Advanced Studies, 2007
  • Sanford Jackson – Taft Middle School, 2006
  • Robyn Hilger – Bell Isle Enterprise Middle School, 2005
  • Jill Scott – Andrew Johnson Elementary School, 2004
  • Michael McGuire – Northeast Academy , 2003

Thank you to our 2016 Stars of Education sponsors!

Diamond Sponsors — $10,000

  • Cliff Hudson
  • Sonic, America's Drive-In 
  • Tanenbaum, Glenna & Dick 

Platinum Sponsors — $5,000

  • American Fidelity
  • E.L. and Thelma Gaylord Foundation
  • University of Central Oklahoma 

Gold Sponsors — $2,500

  • AT&T Oklahoma
  • Chaparral Energy
  • Cox Communications
  • Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores, Inc. 
  • OGE
  • Salyer, Meg / Accel Financial Services 
  • University Community/Diversity Enrichment Programs — University of Oklahoma

Silver Sponsors — $1,500

  • Bank SNB
  • B.C. Clark Jewelers
  • Commerce Bank
  • Devon Energy Corp 
  • Dobson Technologies 
  • Independent Insurance Agent
  • ITC Holdings Corporation 
  • McLaughlin, Chrissy and Rob
  • Merchant, Steve
  • Oklahoma City Thunder
  • Potts, Ray and Pat 
  • Regent Bank 
  • Shirley, Natalie 
  • WEOKIE Credit Union 

Bronze Sponsors — $500

  • Ascent Resources, LLC
  • BancFirst
  • Bank of America
  • The Boldt Company
  • Brand Talkers, LLC
  • Candor
  • Coleman, Bryan C.
  • Community Health Centers of Oklahoma
  • Freed, Josephine W. 
  • Gordon, Kevin
  • Harding, Nathaniel and Amanda
  • Harrison-Orr Air Conditioning, LLC 
  • IBC Bank 
  • Johnson, Willa
  • Mass Architects 
  • Oklahoma City Community College 
  • Oklahoma Natural Gas-One Gas Foundation 
  • R.K. Black, Inc. 
  • SandRidge
  • Silver Stone Homes
  • Taylor, Marnie and Clayton
  • Thompson, Tommy and Joan 
  • The Walton Family Foundation